A Desperate Plea from a Dreamer

This is a long blog post. If you want the crux of it, just skip down to the bottom and read the last two paragraphs. But please read it. 

I am undocumented.

I am a DACA recipient.

I am a Christian.

I am an Asian American immigrant.

The four aforementioned statements are four huge facets of my identity and my life. Yet in light of recent events, I find these facets of my life no longer in harmony, but rather in confusion and chaos.

President Trump announced on Tuesday his administration’s decision to rescind DACA, the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals Act, that protected and provided a way of living, of thriving, for some 800,000 immigrants. I am a recipient of DACA and I have been a recipient of DACA since 2013. What does that mean? This means that for the first time in my life, I received a social security number that allowed me to apply for a drivers license at the age of 18. I received for the first time, a work permit, that allowed me to actually get a legitimate job. It allowed me to no longer be afraid of being deported because it provided me with protection against deportation for at least two years. This is what is being taken away from DACA recipients now.

It is extremely difficult to process and this is something that is not to be taken lightly. This is not something to make light of or even to attempt to joke about. This is something that directly affects and has the power to completely restructure the future of my life. Does that sound dramatic? Sure. But it actually is that big of a deal. That being said, it hurts as an Asian American, Christian, undocumented citizen, that the very community that I identify myself with and love, doesn’t seem to have much empathy or care for this situation I find myself in.

Is this topic controversial? Yes. Is this topic uncomfortable? Yes. But does that mean that it should be ignored and brushed aside with a simple “Oh but you’ll be okay. Don’t worry.” Absolutely not. 

As someone who is Asian American, I know that so many times, we are quick to sideline ourselves in controversial topics and not say anything because it’s uncomfortable.  So many times, we are quick to brush aside these topics and not even address them because we simply don’t feel like it. I’m guilty of this too.

As someone who identifies herself as a Christian, I know that we are quick to pray for natural disasters around the world and offer relief. We are quick to state that we love and care for all those that are hurting and that is the ideology of Christianity – to love all.

Yet, why is it, that when I find myself hurting and aching and so in need of the support of my immigrant community and my Christian community, that there is not very much support to be found? Why is it that my Christian community, the very community that professes its love and care and empathy for everyone and every situation stands stoically silent on the topic?

I’m not stating that every Asian American and Christian are like this, but I’m saying this in general from what I have experienced this past week. I know that there are many who do care and express that, but there are far more who don’t. And that troubles me.

As an undocumented citizen, as a DACA recipient, I am desperately pleading with you, if you have had the immense blessing of becoming a citizen/permanent resident or are a natural born citizen and this recent legislation does not affect you, do not be indifferent to those around you that it does affect. Please, would you not choose to be ignorant? We know that there isn’t anything you can physically do and we know that you don’t quite understand what we are going through and that is okay. But would you be willing to even admit that? Would you be willing to educate yourself and even attempt to know? Would you be willing to sit and simply listen? Would you be willing to simply be there? We don’t want your pity; we don’t want your sympathy; we want your empathy. We want you to show us that you care. Because honestly, that makes all the difference. Simply understand that they are hurting. Simply understand that they are in a state of uncertainty and anxiety and that no matter the 6 month delay or the promise of the Trump administration not to take action on already valid DACA recipients for the next two years, there is still uncertainty. 

Please, please, please. As a Dreamer, as an Asian American, as a Christian, I beg of you – do not stay silent. Your silence is deafening and your indifference is painful. Please support and be there for your hurting community members.

Leave a comment